sfBIG Announces 2016 BIG Star Awards Winners


Pereira & O'Dell, Hub Strategy & Communication, Realtor.com, Hotels.com, Method Highlight This Year’s Honorees;


Media Industry Veteran Heidi Browning Inducted into sfBIG Hall of Fame


San Francisco - April 25, 2016 - sfBIG, the Bay Area’s premier organization for brands, agencies, technologies, and publishers, today announced winners of the 2016 BIG Star Awards Ceremony, The annual gala that celebrates innovation in marketing and advertising in the Bay Area, took place on Thursday, April 21 at Terra Gallery in San Francisco, and recognizes achievement in a number of categories, including Agency of the Year, Campaign of the Year, Creative BIG Star of the Year and more.


Judges for the 2016 BIG Star Awards included: Ted Moon, Principal at Pathfinder Interactive; Bladimiar Norman, SVP, Digital Media at Skydance Media; Serin Silva, Marketing Strategy Consultant; Doug Bandes, SVP, Revenue & Brand Partnerships at Above Average; Adam Kmiec, Sr. Director, Mobile, Social, Content & Performance Marketing at Walgreens; Steve Parker JR, CEO at Levelwing; and Nick Friese, CEO at Digiday.


““Congrats to all the finalists and award winners, and a fantastic evening to celebrate the Bay Area’s creativity in marketing and advertising,” said Kelly Burke, President, sfBIG. “We added some new awards this year as a way to further collaborate and celebrate all contributors to the marketing/advertising community here in the Bay Area. We were thrilled to see Creative Directors from Fetch, Ootem, and Traction recognized for their breadth of work over the past year. It was also wonderful to see our Bay Area brands honored with the Brand Marketer BIG Star of the Year award and the Brand of the Year Award.”


Here is a list of the 2016 BIG Star Awards nominees and winners, bolded and italicized:


Campaign Achievement Awards


Best Mobile Campaign

Essence / Google

Fetch / Hotels.com

Shopkick / Constellation Brands


Best Use of Social Media

Essence / Method

Intuit QuickBooks

Pereira & O'Dell / Captiv8


Best Use of BIG Data


UM / Charles Schwab


Best Video Campaign

Pereira & O'Dell / 1-800-CONTACTS

Pereira & O'Dell / Realtor.com

Traction / Lenovo


Best Creative Storytelling

Hub Strategy & Communication / Oakland A's

Pandora / Ford


Campaign of the Year

Duncan/Channon / CA Department of Public Health

Essence / Method

R2C / Vonage



Company Achievement Awards


Most Innovative Company






Brand of the Year





Boutique Agency of the Year (Under 50 Employees)

catalyst s+f

Hub Strategy and Communication



Agency of the Year

Just Media


Muhtayzik Hoffer

Pereira & O'Dell



Individual Achievement Awards


Lynn Ingham Community Service Award

John Durham / catalyst s+f

Stephanie Cooper / Hulu

Thomas Moyer / empower


Creative BIG Star of the Year

Andy Davis / Ootem

Frank Lipari / Fetch

Theo Fanning / Traction


Brand Marketer BIG Star of the Year

Ashley Lau / esurance

Kimberly Breslin / NinthDecimal

Kristin Falk / Charles Schwab

Marc Berger / Constellation Brands


Media Big Star of the Year

Kristen Chauvin / Carat

Maggie McKay / Ootem

Max Massengill / Essence


Account Big Star of the Year

Jessica Zou / Pereira & O’Dell

Robert Ferguson / catalyst s+f

Sara Stasinos / Vibrant


Salesperson BIG Star of the Year

Chris Pinel / Kargo

Debbie Sorich / Bidtellect

Jim Petry / Teads.tv


Next BIG Rising Star

Anna Chu / Just Media

Harry Byres / catalyst s+f

Hillary Brown / UM

Stephanie Hestilow / MEC



In addition to the awards ceremony, sfBIG each year recognizes one individual who has made significant contributions to the industry, by inducting that person in the sfBIG Hall of Fame. This year’s inductee is Heidi Browning Pearson, SVP of Strategic Solutions at Pandora. Previous sfBIG Hall of Fame inductees include Tim Richards, SVP of West Coast at Aol; Brian Monahan, Managing Partner at MAGNA Global Intelligence Practice; David Smith, CEO at Mediasmith.


On Pearson being inducted into the sfBIG Hall of Fame, Burke said, “We are so pleased to celebrate the accomplishments of the amazing Heidi Browning Pearson, a true star in our industry. The Bay Area is lucky to have someone of Heidi’s caliber as our own, she has undeniable integrity and immense passion for media.”  


On Durham being selected for the Lynn Ingham Community Service Award, its namesake and inspiration Lynn Ingham said, “an early focus of ours was philanthropy and community efforts leading to the inception of this community service award.” Burke added, “It was an honor to share the stage with Lynn Ingham and present the award to John Durham for his selfless dedication to education and the mentorship of his students, colleagues and friends.”

About sfBIG

Founded in 2004, the San Francisco Bay Area Innovation Group (sfBIG) is a non-profit professional organization dedicated to championing innovation in digital media through education, networking and events. Visit sfBIG on the web at http://www.sfbig.org or on FacebookTwitter, and LinkedIn.